Sign In
We improve the public’s health by strengthening the quality and performance of public health practice


The Council on Linkages Between Academia and Public Health Practice (Council on Linkages) is a collaborative of 20 national public health organizations. Since 1992, the Council on Linkages has worked to further academic/practice collaboration to ensure a well-trained, competent workforce and the development and use of a strong evidence base for public health practice. Council on Linkages member organizations and their current representatives are listed below.
American Public Health Association (APHA)
C. William Keck, MD, MPH, Chair of the Council
Professor Emeritus, Department of Family and Community Medicine
Northeast Ohio Medical University
American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
Mary A. Paterson, PhD, MSN
Project Director, CDC Academic Partnerships Cooperative Agreement
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM)
Beverly Taylor, MD
Chair, Department of Community Health and Preventive Medicine
Program Director, Preventive Medicine Residency Program
Morehouse School of Medicine
Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR)
Amy F. Lee, MD, MPH, MBA
MPH Program Director
The Consortium of Eastern Ohio Master of Public Health (CEOMPH)
Association of Accredited Public Health Programs ​(AAPHP)
Gary Gilmore, MPH, PhD, MCHES
Professor and Director, Graduate Community Health Programs
University of Wisconsin and University of Wisconsin-Extension
Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL)
Philip T. Amuso, PhD
Former Laboratory Director (Retired)
Tampa Laboratory, Bureau of Public Health Laboratories
Florida Department of Health
Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH)
José F. Cordero, MD, MPH
Dean, Graduate School of Public Health
University of Puerto Rico
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)
Terry Dwelle, MD, MPH
State Health Officer
North Dakota Department of Health
Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA)
Christopher G. Atchison, MPA
Clinical Professor and Associate Dean, ​College of Public Health
The University of Iowa 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
John D. Lisco, MPH, CHES 
Deputy Director, Division of Scientific Education and Professional Development
Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH)
Barbara Gottlieb, MD
Primary Care Internist
Brookside Community Health Center
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Sarah R. Linde, MD
Chief Public Health Officer
Health Resources and Services Administration
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
Larry Jones, MA, MPH
Health Director
City of Independence Health Department (MO)
National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH)
Marlene Wilken, PhD, RN
Associate Professor, School of Nursing
Creighton University Medical Center
National Environmental Health Association (NEHA)
Carolyn Harvey, PhD
Professor, Environmental Health Sciences
Eastern Kentucky University
National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Lisa Lang, MPP
Assistant Director for Health Services Research Information
National Library of Medicine
National Network of Public Health Institutes (NNPHI)
Patrick Lenihan, PhD
Executive Director
Public Health Institute of Metropolitan Chicago
National Public Health Leadership Development Network (NLN)
Louis Rowitz, PhD
Professor, Community Health Sciences
University of Illinois at Chicago
Quad Council of Public Health Nursing Organizations (Quad Council)
Jeanne A. Matthews, PhD, RN
Dean and Professor, Malek School of Health Professions
Marymount University
Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE)
Vincent Francisco, PhD
Associate Professor, Public Health Education
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro